PDA

View Full Version : CEL light after rebuild



msober
06-14-2005, 12:30 PM
hey guys jamesongst and I put the engine rebuilt by jack in the car a few days ago and everything has been running great. I am getting a CEL light though. anything we may have overlooked? i'll reset the fuse before I go to work today and see if it comes back.

-mike

DlandryTSI
06-14-2005, 12:55 PM
Take it to checker and have them pull the code before you clear it. The code can be many things.

--Dave

wolf20043
06-14-2005, 02:35 PM
same problem here..I finally got the major oil leak fixed(stupid leaking plug cap)but the CEL comes on after about 30 seconds and stays on.I eliminated the vacuum so I am going to go back and make sure I didnt miss any lines.
Mike

DSM16GSX
06-14-2005, 03:56 PM
What kind of car? GVR-4s will throw a CEL if the coolant overflow bottle isn't properly filled. You can get a 12v buzzer for a few $$ from radio shack and pull the codes yourself. Look on VFAQ.com to get the code meanings. This will show you exactly what sensor(s) need to be checked out.

Alex

msober
06-14-2005, 07:28 PM
98 gst

I'll have to code checked out tomorrow after my new tires get put on (Sumitomo HTR Z II)

msober
06-16-2005, 09:48 AM
Just had the code pulled, its p1400 checker couldent find the book though. Someone want to look it up real quick? Posting from a handheld or I would.

JamesonGST
06-16-2005, 10:10 AM
In the Chilton book code P1400 says "Manifold differential pressure sensor circuit malfunction" I'm not sure if that is much help at all :D. Wondering if it is one of the vacuum lines on the intake manifold?

msober
06-16-2005, 10:30 AM
quick search on dsmtalk and it seems a lot of people who swap or pull the engine get the code after. seems like its a no harm code. Anyone else get this code after a rebuild or swap?

-mike

DlandryTSI
06-16-2005, 10:31 AM
The sensor sits on top of the intake manifold. make sure you plugged the harness in.

--Dave

msober
06-16-2005, 10:35 AM
I did have to replace the rubber washer inside the MAP sensor, maybe the size is not the same as what was in it. I'll double check the connections.

-mike

JamesonGST
06-16-2005, 10:36 AM
Mike, if you want stop by tonight and we can swap it out with one I have here to see if that turns the CEL off.

msober
06-16-2005, 10:53 AM
cant tonight, have to go to the drive-in...but if I get out of it, i'll give you a call. I'll come by friday if not tonight

-mike

msober
06-16-2005, 12:16 PM
the connection was a bit loose, pulled off with little effort, so I made sure it was snug and put the pin back, reset the CEL. I'll see if it gets thrown on my way to work.

-mike