Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast

Thread: Emissions help

1. Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Downloads
    Uploads

Emissions help

I read the emissions thread, but it didn't really help with my issue(or I suck at reading that graph). My car passed good on HC and NOx, but failed on CO. The actual reading was 40.3623 where the limit is 20.0000. I need to know what would cause the CO to be high. I tested with the SAFC zeroed out(stock settings), should I have tried with the tuned settings? The previous owner told me he passed with the afc zeroed out, thats why I tried. I have no previous experience with the AFC so I'm not sure if what I did is right or not.

Also, not sure if its totally important but mods are: small 16g turbo, hard upper ic pipe, hks ssqv mounted blow through, gm maf w/translator, hard intake pipe with cone filter, SAFC-II, act 2600 clutch. Its a 1990 GSX.

Thanks for any help. I greatly appreciate it.

-Kaleb

2. Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Downloads
    Uploads

You are still running rich. A good catalytic converter will take the HC reading down significantly.

What exactly did you zero out? everything?
    I would take some more out of the low and high throttle settings.
    You can see in the emmisions graph that the only way you can have high CO is from running richer the 14.7:1
    -Seth

2007 - 11.671 @ 125.34 50trim, 100shot, 110 octane
    2009 - 11.283 @ 126.86 SC6152e (131.11 best trap), only boost

The Pictures
    Other forum screen names; awd1990dsm

3. Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Downloads
    Uploads

There are two settings in the SAFC. The first one is the "tuned" map, the second is completely stock settings, everything zeroed. My HC and NOx were fine, just the CO was high.

the HC reading was 2.4451 limit 3.0000
    the NOx reading was 2.3150 limit 6.0000

edit: I think the car also has a walbro fuel pump. Not sure which one. Or maybe the stock pump is just really loud.

4. Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Downloads
    Uploads